Introduction

The Connections tab helps you to manage the connection credentials used across various automations. The connections screen enables you to:

  • Create new connections
  • Update/Edit existing connections
  • View any associated automations
  • Filter your connections by application, URL, group, or team
  • Sort your connections by application type, category, name, URL, credentials, or # of associated automations
  • Associate your connections with specific groups or teams
  • Delete your connections

Access this area by clicking Connections on the top navigation toolbar.


Create New Connection

Note: You must have Editor or Admin level permissions in order to create a new connection.

To create a new connection, follow the below procedure:

  1. Click Connections on the top navigation bar.  The Manage Connections screen will be displayed.
  2. Click Add Connection. The Connection Details screen is displayed.



  3. Name your connection, and then choose an Application Type from the dropdown menu. This will open a credentials menu specific for that application.



  4. Enter the details required, then click Save. Typical details include:
    1. URL
    2. User Name
    3. Password
    4. Application Category
    5. Time Zone
    6. Select Group (along with Select Team if Group has teams)
    7. Authentication Type

         

Points to Remember
  • Some of these details may differ in functionality based on the application. As an example, if using a personal access token (PAT) to authenticate Azure DevOps, you would leave User Name blank and add the PAT to the Password field.
  • Selecting an application category is optional. However, it can be very helpful when sorting your connections in the future.
  • You can select the time zone where your application server is installed, and ConnectALL automatically calculates the time difference based on the selected time zone. 
  • The time zone that you select on this screen becomes a part of this connection. It will then be used whenever you use this connection in any future automations.
  • If you select a time zone here, you do not need to worry about configuring the time difference when creating or editing an automation. If you have done both, the connection timezone takes precedence. If you don't select a time zone, the time-difference configured in an automation will then be considered.
  • There are some applications where the time zone selection is not required. In such applications (such as Atlassian Jira and Micro Focus ALM), the Time Zone field will be grayed out on the Connection screen while creating an automation.

Update/Edit Existing Connection

To update an existing connection, follow the below procedure:

  1. Click Connections from the top navigation bar. The screen displays the existing connections. 
  2. Find your connection, then click the Modify icon under the Actions column. This will bring up the Connection Details screen.



  3. Edit any necessary fields, then click Save and Update.  



  4. If you have any automations associated with this connection, then you will see the pop-up screen below confirming the status of your updates for each automation. Click Close or the white X to exit this screen.


Filtering & Sorting Connections View

There are a few ways to filter your Connections view. First, you can search for a specific application type or URL by utilizing the search bar. Select the specific application using the Application Type dropdown. You can also type out the connection's URL link in the URL field. After setting the filters you've chosen, click the magnifying glass icon to execute the filter.


To remove the filter(s) that you have set and return to the default list with all your connections, click the Reset Filter button.

There are additional advanced filters you can access by clicking the filter icon () next to the search bar. This opens the Advanced Filter menu, where you can filter your connections by specific groups or teams. After making a selection the list will automatically filter. To clear all advanced filters, click the remove filter icon (). 

You can sort your Connections view by clicking on any column header (excluding Actions). This will then sort the columns in alphabetical (or ascending) order and add an arrow to the right side of the column. Click that same column again to reverse the order.

Associating a connection with a Group or Team

Similar to what you can do with your automations, you are also able to associate your connections with groups or teams. This will enable them to appear when you filter your Dashboard or Value Stream View by a specific Value Stream or Team. 

To associate your connections:

  1. Click Connections from the top navigation bar. The screen displays the existing connections. 
  2. Find your connection, then click the Associations icon under the Actions column. This will bring up the Associate pop-up screen.



  3. Check the box to the left of any number of relevant groups under the Available Groups section. If these groups have teams associated with them, then they will appear under the Available Teams section. Check the relevant team boxes as well.



  4. Click Associate.


Points to Remember
  • You can also associate a connection with a group and/or team during the Add Connection process. If you've done so, then these steps are not necessary.
  • If you associate an automation with a group and/or team, then those associations will carry over to the connection as well.
  • A connection can be shared across multiple groups. Hence, if any user belonging to one specific group logs in, that user can view all the other group’s information with which the connection is shared.
  • As a connection can be shared by multiple groups, any changes to the connection information (in a connection), will impact all the automations and the groups associated with that connection.
  • A CA-ADMIN controls an entire connection if a connection is not shared by any group.

Delete Connection

ConnectALL allows you to delete an un-used connection. If you are facing a scenario where you have multiple connections (with the same URL and credentials), it is recommended that you delete all the duplicate, unused connections.

To delete a connection, follow the below procedure:

  1. Click Connections from the top navigation bar. The screen displays the existing connections. 
  2. Find your connection, then click the Delete icon under the Actions column. This will bring up a confirmation pop-up screen.



  3. To complete the deletion, click Yes. This will close the screen and delete your connection.


Points to Remember
  • If a connection is currently used in an automation, you will not be allowed to delete the connection. In such a scenario, the below displayed message appears. You must remove or delete any automations from this connection before you can delete it.

View the Automations Configured Using a Connection

You can find out the number of automations that are configured with a particular connection. This information can be found in the Automation column on the Connections page.


You can also find out which specific automations are associated with this connection by clicking the View Associated Automations icon on the Connections page.

This will bring up the Associated Automations pop-up screen, where you will see the names of any automation that is using this connection as one of its applications.

ConnectALL extends the manage connections feature by exposing it as a ReST resource, that can be consumed by the users to manage them externally. ReST resource is documented in Developer's Guide.